Skip to main content

How to Set Up a Bill Review Policy with Procure Enabled

Not using Procure? See the non-Procure Bills articles instead.

Admin users can set up a custom approval workflow for submitted bills within the company.

Notes:


Default bill review policy

Until you change it, bills are approved as follows:

Bill

Approved by

Linked to a budget

Any Admin or Finance user

Not linked to a budget

Any Admin or Finance user

Not covered by any rule

Any Admin


Setting Up a Bill Review Policy:

  1. On your Aspire dashboard, click "Policies" in the left navigation bar (web app) or "Menu" > "Policies" (mobile app). Select "Bill review policy".

  2. Click the Edit button on the upper right.

  3. Under the "IF" section, specify the condition(s):

    • Bill submitted within a budget

    • Bill amount

    • You can combine both conditions by clicking "Add condition".

  4. Under the "THEN" section, select the approvers (Admin, Finance, Managers, Budget Owners, Budget Members, or specific users).

    • Budget Owners and Budget Members can only be selected for rules that apply to bills submitted within a budget.

    • Choose whether "All" or "Any" of the selected approvers must approve the bill.

    • To add another approval level, click "Add next step of approval".

    • Set a fallback rule for bills not covered by the above rules (approve by admin or auto-reject).

  5. Click "Update policy" then "Save changes".

Tips:

  • Rules are arranged in order of priority. The first matching rule is applied to each bill.

  • To change rule priority, click the arrow button next to "Sort priority".

  • If the person who submitted a bill is also one of its approvers, they can approve it. To make sure every bill is checked by someone else, include at least two approvers in the same step and select "All of the approvers".

  • If a bill is edited after it's approved, it goes through the approval steps again.


Viewing Changes Made in Bill Review Policy:

  1. Go to "Policies" > "Bill review policy".

  2. Click the three-dotted menu and select "View activity log".

To go back to the default policy, select "Reset to default" from the same menu.

Questions? Chat with us by clicking on the messenger icon at the bottom right of the screen once you are logged in.

Did this answer your question?